Dragonlash.com uses cookies to improve this site and display personalized content. By clicking "I agree" below, you agree to the Dragonlash.com privacy policies.
I Agree

Champion Class Features

You gain these abilities as a champion. Abilities gained at higher levels list the requisite levels next to their names.

Ancestry and Background

Level 1

In addition to the abilities provided by your class at 1st level, you have the benefits of your selected ancestry and background.

Initial Proficiencies

Level 1

At 1st level you gain a number of proficiencies that represent your basic training. These proficiencies are noted in at the start of this class.

Champion's Code

Level 1

You follow a code of conduct, beginning with tenets shard by all champions of an alignment (such as good), and continuing with tenets of your cause. Deities often add additional strictures (for instance, Torag's champions can't show mercy to enemies of their people, making it almost impossible for them to follow the redeemer cause.) Only rules for good champions appear in this book. Tenets are listed in order of importance, starting with the most important. If a situation places two tenets in conflict, you aren't in a no-win situation; instead, follow the more important tenet. For Instance, as a paladin, if an evil king asked you if you're hiding refugees so he could execute them, you could to him, since the tenet against lying is less important than preventing harm to innocents. Trying to subvert your code by creating a situation that forces a higher tenet to overrides lower tenet ( for example, promising no to respect authorities and then, to keep your word, disrespecting authorities) is a violation of the champion code.

IF you stray from your alignment or violate your code of conduct, you lose your focus pool and divine ally until you demonstrate your repentance by conduction an "Atone" ritual, but you keep any other champion abilities that don't require those class features. If your alignment shifts but is still one allowed by your deity, you Gm might let you retrain your cause while still following the same deity.

The Tenets of Good

All champions of good alignment follow these tenets.

  • You must never perform acts anathema to your deity or willingly commit an evil act, such as murder, torture, or the casting of an evil spell.

  • You must never knowingly harm an innocent, or allow immediate harm to one through inaction when you know you could reasonably prevent it. This Tenet doesn't force you to take action against possible harm to innocents at an indefinite time in the future, or to sacrifice your life to protect them.

  • <

Deity and Cause

Level 1

Champions are divine servants of a deity. Choose a deity to follow; your alignment must be one allowed for followers of your deity. Actions Fundamentally opposed to your deity's ideals or alignment are anathema to you faith. A few examples of acts that would be considered anathema appear in each deity's entry. You and your GM determine whether other acts are anathema.

You have one of the following causes. Your cause must match your alignment exactly. Your cause determines your champion's reaction, grants you a devotion spell, and defines part of your champions code.

Paladin (Lawful Good)

You're honorable, forthright, and committed to pushing back the forces of cruelty. You gain the Retributive Strike champions reaction and the "Lay on Hands" devotion spell. After the tenets of good, add these tenets:

  • You must act with honor, never taking advantage of others, lying or cheating.
  • You must respect the lawful authority of legitimate leadership wherever you go, and follow the laws.

Redeemer (Neutral Good)

You're full of kindness and forgiveness. You gain the Glimpse of Redemption champion's reaction and the "Lay on Hands" devotion spell. After the tenets of good, add these:

  • You must first try to redeem those who commit evil acts, rather than killing them or meting out punishment. If they continue on a wicked path, you might need to take more extreme measures.
  • You must show compassion for others, regardless of their authority or station.

Liberator (Chaotic Good)

You're committed to defending the freedom of others. You gain the Liberating Step champion's reaction and the "Lay on hands" devotion spell. After the tenets of good, add these tenets:

  • You must respect the choices others make over their own lives, and you can't force someone to act in a particular way or threaten them if they don't.
  • You must demand and fight for others' freedom to make their own decisions. You may never engage in or countenance slavery or tyranny.
  • <

Deific Weapon

Level 1

You zealously bear your deity's favored weapon. If it's uncommon, you gain access to it. If it's a simple weapon, increase the damage die by one step (d4 to d6, d6 to d8, d8 to d10, d10 to d12).